Great Coastal Railway Journeys: Series 1 (4 discs)

Code: MX193
£0.00 £34.99
Earn 30 reward points

Add To Wishlist


In this visually stunning series, Michael explores Britain's coastal regions that hug the shores of all four nations of the UK.

Travelling the length and breadth of the British Isles, from the Highlands of Scotland to the Isle of Wight. Michael meets the locals and learns the incredible history, culture and character of regions up and down the nation, offering a unique understanding of these vibrant coastal areas.

Series 1 includes:

Dunbar to Edinburgh
An epic stretch of Scottish coastline is the first stop for Michael Portillo. Siccar Point, close to Dunbar on the Firth of Forth, was the site of an extraordinary 18th-century discovery and is now a place of pilgrimage for Earth scientists.

Leith to Culross
Michael Portillo continues his 483km Scottish coastal journey along the Firth of Forth at the railway engineering icon for which it is famous throughout the world: the Forth Bridge.

Stirling to East Neuk
Michael Portillo begins this leg of his Scottish railway journey in the beautiful medieval city of Stirling. Michael learns it was a strategic city, situated where the Lowlands meet the Highlands at the lowest bridging point of the River Forth.

St Andrews to Stonehaven
Michael Portillo visits St Andrews, home to Scotland's oldest university, in eastern Fife, before heading to the vibrant city of Dundee and the harbour town of Stonehaven.

Forvie to Peterhead
Michael Portillo's Scottish railway journey reaches Aberdeen, from which he heads to the wild and beautiful Forvie National Nature Reserve and Scotland's most easterly town, Peterhead.

Inverness to the Cairngorms
Michael Portillo crosses the Culloden Viaduct aboard the Caledonian Sleeper to arrive bright and early in the coastal city of Inverness, from which he heads north on a magnificent scenic adventure to the Orkney archipelago.

Cullen to Cawdor
Michael admires the impressive Cullen viaduct before enjoying a bowl of Cullen skink at a family-run fishmonger of 150 years' standing.

Invergordon to Tain
Michael Portillo's Scottish coastal railway journey reaches Invergordon on the Cromarty Firth, the third great inlet on the north-east coast of the Highlands.

Produced by - Dazzler Media
Running time - 725 minutes (4 discs)
Format:  16.9 PAL
Subtitles: English
Audio 2.0 Stereo Dolby Digital
Region 2
DVD only
Released - 2022

You may also like...

The item has been added to your basket

Continue Shopping
Proceed To Checkout