Middleton Press

Heritage Railways: West Somerset Railway (Book)

Code: MP111
£0.00 £19.95
Earn 10 reward points

Add To Wishlist


The railway to Minehead served the community faithfully for 100 years until it closed in 1971. Enthusiasts refused to let the line die and have spent almost 50 years rebuilding it as a heritage railway. It is the longest standard-gauge steam railway in the UK and one of the premier lines. It delights passengers who are hauled by GWR locomotives through the beautiful Somerset countryside and alongside the coast from Bishops Lydeard, near Taunton to the seaside resort of Minehead. This book tells the story of the heritage railway and how it got to be what it is today.

Stations and Locations
• Crowcombe Heathfield
• Blue Anchor
• Norton Triangle
• Bishops Lydeard
• Roebuck Level Crossing
• Leigh Woods Level Crossing
• Stogumber
• Stogumber (west of)
• Williton
• Doniford
• Watchet
• Washford
• Blue Anchor (west of)
• Dunster
• Minehead

Author: Ian Coleby
Published by: Middleton Press
Series: Country Railway Routes
Colour and B/W photographs
Size: 240 x 174 mm
Format: Hardback
Language: English
Pages: 96
Large Scale Maps
Other details of local history
ISBN:  9780906520680
Published: June 2023

*We offer FREE postage on Middleton Press books. Please note we only ship these books to UK addresses.

You may also like...

The item has been added to your basket

Continue Shopping
Proceed To Checkout