Transport Video Publishing

Branches in the North: Volume Two - Across the Pennines to the North East

Code: TV254
£0.00 £19.95
Earn 10 reward points

Add To Wishlist


The North of England once possessed two remarkable railways crossing the Pennines. One ran over Stainmore, the other through Wensleydale. This programme explores these lines using archive from the days of British Railways, starting in the 1950s and continuing through the 1960s & 1970s to the diesel era.

The Programme comprises:

Across the Pennines - The once important line from Kirkby Stephen to West Auckland via the 1370 foot summit at Stainmore. The steam and passenger workings are shown along the route together with the intermediate stations in the 1950s and just prior to closure.

The Middleton-in-Teesdale Branch - The line with its intermediate stations from Barnard Castle with a special steam working and DMUs.

Through Bishops Auckland - The lines from Barnard Castle and Wearhead including the last freight traffic.

The Richmond Branch from Darlington and a steam worked freight.

Through Wensleydale - The line from Northallerton to Hawes with special trains and freight traffic in the years from 1965 to 1992 plus a look at the connection with the Midland at Garsdale.

Produced by - Transport Video Publishing
Running time - 90 minutes approx
DVD only
Released - October 2023

You may also like...

The item has been added to your basket

Continue Shopping
Proceed To Checkout